I’ve decided to stop blaming the Government. I blame YOU and I blame ME. Now stop your bitching and do something about it.

OK, people.  I’m tired of listening to the Democrats blaming the Republicans and the Republicans blaming the Democrats with the constituents blaming the Congress.   Time to accept blame where it rightfully belongs.  With all of us as constituents.  Stop living in self denial nonsense and accept that we have surrendered our power willingly and now just bitch bitch bitch about the results.  It’s the media, it’s the Congress, it’s the President it’s flipping global warming.  Enough of this already!  Time for everyone to put up or just shut the hell up and reap what we have sown.   Fact facts Freaks, the House and Senate have reelection rates over the last fifty years averaging above 85%.  For the last thirty eight years the Congressional Public approval rate has averaged around 20%.  That means 65% of us are consistently talking out our asses and not putting our votes where our mouths are.  If you are one of the “but my Congressman is one of the good ones.”,  news flash,  no he/she is not.  Decades of failure have proved them unqualified for the job.  They’re a failure too just like all the rest.  That “not my Congressman” mentality is the 65% problem.  If you’re in the 80% that are in the “disapprove” of Congress but reelect your Rep time and time again category then I’m calling you out and saying you need a mental political enema.  You, yes you, are the problem in itself.   So here’s the ending of The POTR rant………….  Put your vote where your mouth is immediately during the next election or shut the frak up and just take it however we screwed it up as is.  It’s simply our own fault and if we had a bit of guts we’d just admit it and take our power back from these idiotic clowns that we put up on the Hill.  If you are over the age of eighteen and don’t vote then don’t bother to comment, as you are irrelevant, and you sure as heck have zero right on my planet to talk about American politics.

“I wear the chain I forged in life….I made it link by link, and yard by yard; I girded it on of my own free will, and of my own free will I wore it.” – Charles Dickens, A Christmas Carol

We_build_our_own_chains

Reelection Rates Over the Years (From OpenSecrets.com):

Few things in life are more predictable than the chances of an incumbent member of the U.S. House of Representatives winning reelection. With wide name recognition, and usually an insurmountable advantage in campaign cash, House incumbents typically have little trouble holding onto their seats—as this chart shows.

House

Senate races still overwhelmingly favor the incumbent, but not by as reliable a margin as House races. Big swings in the national mood can sometimes topple long time office-holders, as happened with the Reagan revolution in 1980. Even so, years like that are an exception.

Senate

Now lets overlay the above with Congressional Public approval:

Historical approval rates of Congress from Gallup:

approval rates

About The Pissed Off Tree Rat

http://pissedofftreerat.com/
This entry was posted in Politics and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I’ve decided to stop blaming the Government. I blame YOU and I blame ME. Now stop your bitching and do something about it.

  1. caohaoim says:

    Sensenbrenner and Ron Johnson

    Who are my viable alternatives?

  2. Unless you I can vote for a third party then I’m voting against any incumbent. But full disclosure, in 14 I’ll be voting as a MD resident so that means anti-incumbent means voting RNC as it’s a single party state anyway.

  3. caohaoim says:

    Vote against the the Dem in the primaries. It’s what I do.

  4. salgak says:

    Well, mind you, in SOME places, there are Libertarian or Constitution Party candidates for Congress. We haven’t voted for an incumbent for Congress since before the turn of the century.

    Of course, it helps that my Congresscritter is RINO Frank Wolf, whose main concerns appear to be Tibet and stopping online gambling.

    He was elected to Congress in my sophomore year of college (1980), promising 6 terms and then he’d leave office. That would have been 1992. He’s still there, 23 years later. . . 36 years in Congress is QUITE enough, I think. . .

Leave a comment, or the Zombies will eat you........

