Shhhhh….. don’t tell the boss

but I was floating around looking for topics for a Thursday blog post at the office.  Nope, not, nothing. Hit the wall. Not an original thought in my head that would be of any interest to anyone. I did have to replace a pump on my well yesterday, but I find that uninteresting and doubt anyone else would find it interesting either.  So if I couldn’t find an original thought, I decided to do what we all do. I look for crap to steal off the internet.  Nothing like starting your muse with the simple Google search of the word Thursday. I figured what the hell, it’s Thursday might as well start there. Strangely enough, Googling Thursday gave me a large definition of the Greco-Roman calendar and the origins of Thursday. That shit was even more boring than what was going through my head.  When I click the tab for images for Thursday. You can only imagine what came up.   Yes, that’s exactly right. Thousands of pictures of kittens with the words “Hang in there, Fridays tomorrow.”.  That was of no damn help whatsoever. So then I got desperate. Google searched for Thursday quote. Lo and behold one caught my attention. Not so specifically about Thursday, but the word Thursday is in the title of a book the quote originated from. The below intrigued me:

“Shall I tell you the secret of the whole world? It is that we have only known the back of the world. We see everything from behind, and it looks brutal. That is not a tree, but the back of a tree. That is not a cloud, but the back of a cloud. Cannot you see that everything is stooping and hiding a face? If we could only get round in front–”
G.K. Chesterton, The Man Who Was Thursday

The POTR king computes OWS 99

I never heard of the book, The Man Who was Thursday.  Now what could that be about that it has generated  such interesting quote?  Search on Goodreads  has given me the description of:

G.K. Chesterton’s 1908 masterpiece, The Man Who Was Thursday, is a metaphysical thriller, and a detective story filled with poetry and politics. Gabriel Syme is a poet and a police detective. Lucian Gregory is a poet and a bomb-throwing anarchist. Syme infiltrates a secret meeting of anarchists and becomes ‘Thursday’, one of the seven members of the Central Anarchist Council. He soon learns, however, that he is not the only one in disguise, and the nightmare begins…

I do believe my lazy research for today has not generated much wit for me to provide you with.  But I do now have a new book to download for my Kindle.   It seems…… interesting.

About The Pissed Off Tree Rat

http://pissedofftreerat.com/
This entry was posted in General and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Shhhhh….. don’t tell the boss

  1. caohaoim says:

    I will be interested in your feedback.

  2. I hope it’s good. Sounds like it has potential.

  3. Brad S. says:

    You’d be hard pressed to find a better writer!

  4. caohaoim says:

    I’m re-reading it now. I realized I had last read it in high school.

  5. I’m reading BLT’s book now. Next in the que is now The Man Who Was Thursday. I’m waaay behind on my leisure reading list. The Man has been keeping me swamped at work and bleeding into my weekend time.

  6. caohaoim says:

    His book is out?

  7. Sept 2014. It’s on Amazon. I must finish reading before I review. So far so good.

  8. caohaoim says:

    Damn, Only 94 cents on the card till the end of the month.

  9. Brad S. says:

    Another quote from the book:
    “Yes, the modern world has retained all those parts of police work which are really oppressive and ignominious, the harrying of the poor, the spying upon the unfortunate. It has given up its more dignified work, the punishment of powerful traitors in the State and powerful heresiarchs in the Church. The moderns say we must not punish heretics. My only doubt is whether we have a right to punish anybody else.”

Leave a comment, or the Zombies will eat you........

